Challenge: Stop making Excuses

Or, as Nike would say: Just do it!

I am the best at making excuses not to do things, you should hear the arguments I get into with myself sometimes. The lazy me almost always wins and I almost always regret afterwards. So this week I decided to block out that voice and tell it to just do it already. Or as I wrote it down in my scrap-book:

Dear Self,

I don’t care if you are cold, sad, sick, stress, lazy… just get out there and do it already.
No more self-sabotage, the only reasons not to go to yoga/out for a run/out to some social thing you don’t feel up to are: a) when you are (half-)dead
b) when there’s a hurricane raging
c) when you have to finish a task for school before midnight that same day

I’m only saying this for your own good!

So every time I even started to think about skipping a yoga class, I just thought about this entry and about how I was not helping myself making up various excuses why I shouldn’t go, instead I just sucked it up and got it over with.
And I was proud.

I also applied this theory to my procrastination habit when it comes to school work. Result: I went to two yoga classes before it was even Wednesday morning and I’m planning on doing some practise at home as well tomorrow, I went for a run and I finished off some school work I was really delaying.

Moral of the story: sometimes you just need a kick in the butt and sometimes you are the only person who can give that kick!

Challenge: Stop making excuses and get out there already. Give yourself a kick in the butt when you need one.

Love, M.

2 responses to “Challenge: Stop making Excuses

  1. making excuses are so easy! but then once you go and actually do it, you realize just how much you love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

