One busy Easter

I threw an Easter brunch
For the whole family…
That’s 15 people.

Just to make sure you really grasp what I just said: I prepared a brunch for 15 people today, and since brunches are actually two meals in one, you could say I made two meals for 15 people, impressed yet?!

I enjoyed myself, but I forgot to bring my camera (I wouldn’t have had time to take photographs anyway), so you’ll have to do with your imagination and the photographs of some small things I took home.

It’s important to imagine lots of chocolate and coloured Easter eggs.
I baked croissants and pains au chocolat (I did not make them myself though, just baked them), my nanna and I bought sandwiches and all types of bread and we had cheese and meat (for some of us at least) to eat with them. My gramps made soup and I prepared appetizers with mozzarella and smoked salmon,a quiche with broccoli and mushrooms and ricotta – spinach cakes.
I also fried bacon and eggs, which may sound weird, but I don’t have any problems about cooking meat and serving it to other people as long as you don’t expect me to eat it.

‘Ricotta Spinach Cakes’
makes 4 medium or 6 small cakes

  • 100 gr of spinach
  • roasted pine nuts
  • 2 eggs
  • 150 gr ricotta
  • grated cheese
  • 100 gr of flour
  • lemon zeste
  • garlic powder, pepper, salt, nutmeg

Chop up the spinach. Whisk together the ricotta and the eggs in a bowl. Add the spinach, the toasted pine nuts, the lemon zeste and the flour. Combine everything and season. Grease 4 medium size or 6 small ramekins.

Preheat oven to 160°C (320 F). Divide the mixture over the ramekins, sprinkle some grated cheese and some extra pine nuts on top and bake for 15 minutes. When done, you can eat them out of the ramekin or transfer them to a plate (which should work out just fine if you’ve greased your ramekins).

Flowers for the host!
I should throw brunches more often, I like cooking for people and taking care of them. My aunt was present too today, her belly has become huge and I was able to feel the baby kick for a couple of times, in less than a month I will be a real godmother!

Happy Easter,
Love, M.

4 responses to “One busy Easter

  1. Oh wow! Props to you for putting on brunch for 15 people! Very impressive 🙂

  2. I am ridiculously impressed- 15 people? Insanity! All the food sounds delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

