Got to have it all

All I could think about when I woke up this morning were oatmeal toppings!

I wanted granola, I wanted melted peanut butter, I wanted cottage cheese…
I did not want oatmeal however.

My craving for real Spring weather is not satisfied yet but my appetite has already decided that it is getting too much like Spring to keep on eating a steaming bowl of oatmeal in the morning.

Exit hot oatmeal, bring on the smoothies with oatmeal toppings!

In the smoothie: Soy milk, half a banana, 1/4 of an avocado and some lamb’s lettuce. Topped with: 5 t of cottage cheese and melted peanut butter.

This was really amazing!
You can’t call it a light smoothie by any means and I would not recommend drinking this (unless you’re used to drinking your cottage cheese, then go ahead) but it was a filling breakfast and it was really tasty.
I liked the texture as well, because I only used half a banana it wasn’t a thick smoothie but the cottage cheese made up for that lack of texture a lot.

Anyway, I think it’s time for cold oatmeal to make  a comeback, or else I’ll have to think of other, more Spring like breakfasts, all ideas are welcome!

Love, M.

4 responses to “Got to have it all

  1. soy milk, cottage cheese, and…………. peanut butter again… lol

    • Jep, I’m a real creature of habit and I go through periods of enormous amounts of one type of food 😉 It has something to do with being a student too, I try not to buy too much and I’m on a budget so I can’t buy a lot of different things at the same time so I stick to the basics. I hate throwing away food so I just keep using them till I finished what I bought (Normal portion sizes are gigantic when you’re living on your own and are not really a big eater). I’m sorry if I’m boring you, I’m feeling like cooking and experimenting again (haven’t felt like that in a while, hence the posts with basic things) so I hope the next posts will bring other things than peanut butter 😉

      • No worry, am my comment make you feel something wrong? Then it my mistake.. haha.
        I just tried to hint that you are truly fall in love to those stuff, anyway, it taste good, and I like it too.
        I got the reason that we like to buy food in big packet or bulk, thus to enjoy the cost saving, I did that, as alway… and sometime I did the mistake where I overlook my consumption, thus it spoil and end up to throw away those stuff… So, I try to plan better.

        Try to snap the photo in different method.. example: use a spoon to took some up and snap it… this will make readers have better imagination of how it look. ^_^

      • No,no, it’s okay, it wasn’t my intention to get defensive 🙂 I was just trying to explain why everything looks the same at the moment 😉 It is really hard to plan stuff and not to throw away food, but I think I’m getting better at it (the fact that I’m a real list freak could have something to do with this though). Thanks for the tip, I’ll give it a try next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

