Parsnip Röstis

I’m falling in love with potatoes all over again.

I haven’t been too fond of potatoes these last couple of months.
When we were kids potatoes where the staple food in our house, dinner typically consisted of some kind of potato with veggies and meat. So it’s safe to say I have had my fair share of potatoes in my youth.

Last Sunday however I couldn’t resist trying to make some crispy, salted oven potato wedges and they immediately converted me back into a potato lover.
I’ve done another potato experiment yesterday and it turned out amazing as well!

‘Parsnip Röstis’
makes 8 röstis 

  • 1 parsnip
  • 3 small potatoes
  • a small onion
  • some garlic
  • 1 egg
  • pepper and salt (and any other herb you’d like to use: you could make spicy kerry paprika flavoured ones or röstis with fresh garden herbs served with a yoghurt dressing)
  • olive oil
  • optional: a few handfuls of grated cheese

Peel the potatoes and the parsnip, grate them. Chop the onion and the garlic, add them to the grated potato and parsnip. Add the egg and the herbs as well.
You can also add some grated cheese at this point, I didn’t do this in my first try but I bet they would taste even more amazing with some cheese in there.
Mix everything together with your hands.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (360 F).
Line a cookie tin with wax paper, sprinkle some olive oil on top and spread it out with a small brush or a paper towel piece.
Bake them for 20 minutes on 180°C (360 F),followed by 10 minutes on 160°C (320 F). Don’t forget the flip them over after 15 minutes.

You could also bake them in a skillet in some olive oil, when they are done you can keep them warm in an oven on about 140°C (280 F).

Love, M.

 

2 responses to “Parsnip Röstis

  1. Sounds good, I’ve been loving the plain potato too lately. I definitely went a few years maybe eating them 4x a year but have been craving them lately for some reason.

    This recipe looks great, I’ll have to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

