Cho-cho-cho-chocolate Cake

When I’m stressed I need sugar and chocolate..
lots of it, pronto!

Lately I’ve been under a lot of stress for a lot of varies reasons (personal reasons, family issues, school…and the list goes on and on), not sleeping very well hasn’t been helpful to deal with this at all.
I decided to give my body what (it thought) it needed: I’m having an all chocolate and sugar day and as from tomorrow (the day I’m having my first exam) I’m going to get my act back together: I’m going to focus, sleep enough and do something about my sugar cravings and my stress related eating habits…

But first there’s chocolate cake:

‘Basic Chocolate Cake’

  • 200 gr ( a bit less than a cup) of butter
  • 200 gr (3/4 a cup) of sugar
  • 300 gr (2 cups) of flour
  • some vanilla extract or some amaretto
  • 4 eggs
  • 200 gr of dark chocolate
Cream the butter, add the sugar and stir. Add the egg yolks to this mixture, when everything is combined add the flour and vanilla or amaretto. Melt the chocolate and add this as well. Process the egg whites until they become a white foam then fold this under the rest of the mixture.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (360F).
Grease a cake tin, pour the dough in this tin and put it in the oven for 45 minutes.

*First I was a bit reluctant about sharing this info about me not really being in the right mental place at the moment, but I figured that even if I wouldn’t explicitly mention it, it would still be pretty obvious from the tone of my posts. I’m not proud of my sugar attack way to deal with all of this, but hey, I’m only human and I am aware that stress and anxiety has an influence on my eating behaviour, I just don’t have the energy to start doing something about it today with all of the other stuff that is going on, I will get my act together soon, promise, and things will definitely get better once I finished my exams and I have some time to deal with all the other things going on at the moment.

Love, M.

2 responses to “Cho-cho-cho-chocolate Cake

  1. So sorry to read that you are stressed – I can’t speak to everything but you will handle all the school stuff perfectly so don’t worry too much! And it’s normal to need the glucose when you do all this intellectual work so all that sugar will serve a purpose!

Leave a Reply

