Storm and Comfort

Dark clouds are moving over Belgium, it seems like nature is making up for the non existing rain of November.

Yesterday a storm passed over: my boots are still wet, as is my coat and it took me until the evening to stop my hair from dripping all over my course notes. Now I’m sitting here, blogging under a blanket and sipping tea, while it is still raining cats and dogs and I should actually be working on an English Linguistics exam, thinking it would probably be easier if I had been more attentive the past few year during Linguistics classes. (note: Sophie if you read this, I’m going back to the exam as soon as this is posted ;)).

So, when in doubt, blog!

Here’s a little comfort food ‘recipe’ I’d like to share, for all the people who have to face the rain today!

‘Cottage Cheese Rice Pudding’

  • leftover brown rice
  • soy milk
  • 2 T of cottage cheese
  • 1/4 a banana, mashed
  • cinnamon
  • some ginger, grated
  • dried berries

Add milk to the rice until it’s fully covered, microwave for about 2 minutes.
In the meantime mash the banana, add this to the rice and microwave for another 2 minutes. When done stir in the cottage cheese, cinnamon and ginger and  add the dried berries.

Voila, an easy yet warm, creamy and spicy treat to make you forget about rain or linguistics for a while.

Love, M.

2 responses to “Storm and Comfort

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I like rice porridge, or “milk rice” as we call it here 🙂 Nice idea to add cottage cheese into it. Are those goji berries?

Leave a Reply

