Cookie Succes

Yesterday’s breakfast bake immediately reminded me of shortbread cookies so I couldn’t resist attempting to tweak the recipe a bit to make cookies out of them.

Good thing we had a little baking help at the house today:
She loves to sing and talk to herself and she wears bright pink and fluffy shoes…

Judging by the shoe size you guys probable know who I’m talking about 😉

Charlotte is staying over for a play date and slumber party!

We make a great team, besides the obvious singing and pink obsessing we share, we also both love to make animal noises (she does a great kitten).
Another bonus point is that she loves to eat, which is very convenient as I love to bake.

‘Almond Buckwheat Cookies with Chocolate Glaze’

  • 30 gr (1/4 a cup) of almond flour
  • 30 gr (1/4 a cup) of buckwheat flour
  • 1/4 t of baking powder
  • 3 t of brown sugar
  • one egg
  • a splash of soy milk
  • 20 gr of butter, softened
  • cinnamon
  • chocolate glaze (125 gr of powdered sugar, 1 T of cocoa powder, 2 to 3 T of water) or chocolate chips (I forgot to add the chips before I baked them so that’s why I opted to glaze them)

First mix the dry ingredients together, then add the wet ingredients. Mix everything together until well combined.

Preheat oven to 180°C (360F).
Line a cookie liner with wax paper and add the dough in dollops on the liner (I still have to work in making nice dollops, so my cookies always look awful). Place them in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes.

If you want to glaze them just add a couple of tablespoons of water to 125gr of powder sugar mixed with 1T of cocoa powder, whisk everything together and drizzle it on top of the cookies once they cooled of a bit.

Let it set for about 4 hours.If you want to add sprinkle or other decorations, add them before the glaze has set otherwise they won’t stick.

Love, M.

6 responses to “Cookie Succes

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I could probably eat only that chocolate glaze and still be very happy 🙂 It is nice to have such a cute baking help, no wonder that those cookies were a success 😀

  2. Sings, laughs, and wear fluffy shoes? I believe that could also apply to Maxime, Daphne, or Mona, no? 😀
    And very envious of your cookie, my recent creation was too overloaded with dark chocolate and split the cookies when we tried to eat them. I really love the healthy ingredients in your cookies – all kids should eat such noms!

    • Haha, it could be all 3 of us indeed, but I tried on the pink fluffy shoes and I could only fit my toes in (I felt like Cinderella’s sister)! I hate it when cookies don’t turn out the way you want them, were it the ones of you ‘cookie monster date at home’ post?cause they looked really yummy, I wouldn’t mind eating them even if the fell apart (crumbs are cookies too ;))

  3. What a glorious way to spend the day 🙂 Lovin your fluffy shoes too… I want them!
    I have never even tasted Buckwheat flour! Must get some when I return home for break and try out some recipes

Leave a Reply

