Death By Chocolate

It has been a chocolate overload these last weeks!

I have ‘unconsciously’ promoted chocolate to become the star component of my breakfasts (I blame it on all the Sinterklaas candy of course, can’t let that chocolate go to waste ;)).

So starting yesterday, I’ve been trying to stay away from the chocolate and I must admit I’m having a hard time doing so…
I sleepwalked through the entire day and didn’t feel remotely human until I was standing in down dog at my yoga class. First I thought I was just tired or getting a cold but later that evening it hit home:
It’s called sugar withdrawal, honey!

To combat my fatigue I’ve been relying on some of my other favourite foods:

Peanut Butter Crumpets!

Lunch today was packed with vitamins to boost my energy levels and make me forget I ever even craved sugar!

‘Microwaved Sweet Potato’

Sweet potato is a super easy and energy boosting lunch.
You can prepare them in the oven of course, but when I’m pressed for time I just pop them in the microwave: wash and dry the potato, pick some holes in it with a fork or a toothpick and wrap a paper towel around it. Microwave on high for 3 to 5 minutes (depending on its size).

When done just slice it open in the middle and add a dollop of Greek yoghurt, hummus or your favourite nut butter.

This is what my new favourite salad looks like: mixed greens, khaki, cottage cheese and dried berries on top. Some avocado would make it even more sublime.

Love, M.

10 responses to “Death By Chocolate

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    That salad looks very tasty, but I have to say that death by chocolate doesn´t sound bad either 😀

  2. I very easily get addicted to sugar too and can feel the effects when I cut back. I like your idea of adding in some sweet potatoes for natural sweetness. 😀

    • Sugar is just too addicting, and the bad thing is I don’t even notice it until I cut back on it. I’m relaying on natural sweetness for now (sweet potato, kiwis and other fruits)

  3. All of this looks yummy! Have you heard the song ‘Death By Chocolate’ by Sia? Such a good song. xoxo

  4. Did you make the crumpet? it looks yummy!
    And I didn’t know Sinterklaas came before December 25 – I like it because it keeps the focus separate on Christmas day! And I’ve never heard of the adorable shoe tradition. If I have kids one day, I’m stealing that – it’s so cute!
    Does Mona get a stocking? We have to pick up one for Nigel!

    • I bought the crumpet ;), but I am planning on making some soon cause these were a little too salt for my taste. If I make ’em myself I’ll be sure to share the recipe 😀 In Belgium Santa isn’t so big, as kids we did get presents for Christmas but we never really associated it with Santa, so it’s not a tradition like it is in America. Instead we have sinterklaas on the 6 of December (but there is a difference between santa and sinterklaas). And thanks for mentioning the stocking, I didn’t think about it, but Mona should definitely get one!! 😀

  5. That looks amazing.

    It’s edging ever closer to Xmas so I am battling the desire to just eat chocolate, Mini Cheddars, and kebabs all day.

  6. Pingback: Again with the Sweet Potato | Mixxedtape

Leave a Reply

