Another round of Morning Baking

I can’t help it, when I’m at home during the weekends I just have to bake stuff (preferably breakfast stuff).

I probably wouldn’t be such a baking fanatical if I had an oven to my disposition every day, but now I can only use it in the weekend, I have to make good use of my baking time.

‘Breakfast Cookie’
3 varieties

  • 30 gr (1/3 a cup) of oats
  • soy milk
  • cinnamon
  • one egg (or just the white, or a flax egg)
  • 1 t of baking powder
  • 1/2 t unsweetened cocoa powder
  • some granola
  • some chocolate chips
  • dried berries
  • sunflower seeds
  • shredded almonds or coconut shreds
  • 1 t peanut butter

For the base: heat the oats in just enough milk to cover them  for 2 minutes in the microwave. Add the egg, whisk, whisk, add some more milk if preferred and heat for another minutes. Add cinnamon and baking powder.

I opted to cook the oats before baking the cookies so they would stay gooey and chewy on the inside, if you don’t care for chewy cookies you can skip this step and just mix the oats, milk, egg, baking powder and cinnamon together and whisk it.

Divide the oats dough in tree parts.
Preheat oven to 220°C ( 430F).

Chocolate Cookies:
Mix 1/2 t of cocoa powder through 1/3 of the oats base.
Make 2 dollops with a spoon and place them on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Sprinkle some granola and chocolate chips on top.

Berrie Cookies:
Mix the berries, sunflower seeds and shredded almonds/coconut with another 1/3 of the oats base.
Again, make 2 dollops on the wax paper.

Peanut Butter Cookies:
Heat 1 t of peanut butter and mix it with 1/3 of the oats base.
Make two dollops of this mixture and line them on the wax paper.
Bake them in the oven for about 10 minutes (12 minutes if you like them a bit firmer) on 220° C (430 F).

These would be great as a snack as well, but yeah, you guys know I have a soft spot for cookies for breakfast 😉

Love, M.

8 responses to “Another round of Morning Baking

  1. Dessert for breakfast is the best! And who doesn’t love cookies?

  2. Lenna (veganlenna)

    Those cookies look really tasty! 🙂
    I am actually the same when it comes to baking. When I had my own oven, I never cared about baking when I came home to my parents. But now, when I have to live without the oven, I love to bake various cookies and cakes whenever I get home (which is probably only 4 times a year, unfortunatelly).

    • That’s just how humans work, we always want what we can’t have and when we have it were not interested in it any more 😉
      That kind of sad, you only going home 4 times a year, don’t you miss it?

      • Lenna (veganlenna)

        Exactly, I think that especially women are experts in wanting what they can´t have and forgetting about things they already got 😀
        Yes, I miss it a lot. But it takes me 8 hours to get home and 8 hours to get back and I almost never have more than 1 free day, so I would go home, spend there 1 hour and go back..it is not much possible.. I am really looking forward to Christmas, I will be at home for 2 weeks, it will be really nice 🙂

      • I’m sorry to hear that, it must be really hard sometimes, not being able to just go home when you want to and saying your family so little. Nice to hear you’ll be going home for Christmas though 😀

Leave a Reply

