Fluff up Your Oats

Fluffy is the new black… or something along those lines 😉

There’s something extremely comforting about digging into a bowl of overflowing, marshmallowy oats in the morning.

 

Not just because there’s more to eat while prepared with the same amount of oats (I have to admit, sometimes I’m a quantity person), but also because of the texture: it’s like eating a cloud!

First attempt at fluffy oats were the eggy banana oats as seen in Sundays post. They were fluffy all right, but heavy at the same time (this doesn’t make sense until you’ve actually tried them).
And then there was all the stove top cooking and the whisking: It’s a nice breakfast to hold you over for a long time and when you have a lot of time to prepare it, but the lazy person in me wanted to see if there was a way to create pillow oats without all the fuss and the whisking.

Fortunately there is!

‘Lazy Girl Fluffy Oats’

Take half  a cup of quick oats, pour water on top of them until they are covered and microwave for about 1.5 to 2 minutes.

You’ll end up with something like this:

It looks like a sponge with cinnamon sprinkled on top, but no worries, it’ll turn out just fine.

Now add a few splashes of (soy) milk and stir everything  well, you’ll see that the ‘sponge’ will dissolve and get more pillow like, keep adding milk and stirring until you reached the desired consistency (I also added half a mashed banana at this point). Microwave for another minute or 2, et voila!

Feel free to add  more milk after this if you think the oats still aren’t fluffy enough.

Fluffy and voluminous, the way I like my oats best!

As for the fun part: I added melted peanut butter and some granola to get a banana peanut butter bowl.

Love, M.

13 responses to “Fluff up Your Oats

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I like my oats really fluffy, so this sounds like a good way to go 🙂 Now I only have to buy a microwave oven… 😀 I make even lazier version – I just pour boiling water over the oats, stir, let it sit, add a bit more water, stir once again and eat 🙂
    I made the egg-banana-version a couple times before I went vegan, but I just couldn´t get used to the taste of it, something about tje combination just felt a bit “off” for me 🙂

    • I’ve tried to just add boiling water too, but I just think it taste likes nothing then, I can cope with half milk, half water oatmeal now, but just water still is a no go. There is indeed something strange about the egg-banana version, it’s kind of strange, yet tempting at the same time 😉

      • Lenna (veganlenna)

        Well, the truth is I need to add at least 2 spoons of cocoa to my oats to give them some taste, when I use just boiling water 🙂

  2. Mmm I like my oats like that too, so I ought to give this a try!

  3. ahhh, i love fluffy oatmeal. my dad eats his oatmeal really dry and i don’t understand how he can even digest it?! any who this is perfect!

    • I don’t get people eating super dry oatmeal, or super soupy oats for that matter, my mum eats oatmeal every now and then and it’s just milk with a couple of oats floating in 😉

  4. I have never tried fluffy oats … WHO AM I!? I’ll have to get on it. I can’t do the extra dry or the soupy either, so this sounds perfect for me. Is it not too soupy with all that (soy)milk though?

    • Go try it right now!! 😉 It looks like a lot of milk added, but it’s just a splash a lot of times, you could just add the amount of milk you like and stir it then, but since I never keep track of how much milk I actually use, I just keep adding little splashes for like a million times until the consistency is right 🙂

  5. So smart! I’m too lazy and crunched for time in the mornings to make stove top oats, so this would be perfect! haha 🙂

  6. How do the peanut butter cookies bind? Did you use flax? or egg whites?

    • I used a whole egg for these ones, my mum hates it when I just use the whites and keep the yolks in the fridge for future use (I’m bad at throwing away food, I always think that I’ll be able to use it later, which, of course I never do) so I just used it all 😉 whites or flax will work out just fine too though

Leave a Reply

