I’d like my Oats Sunny Side Up

Happy Sunday everyone,

I’m still all bouncy from a brilliant 9 K run (the furthest I’ve ever run!).
It was foggy this morning so it was very tempting to just going back to bed (I already manage to trip up on tree trunks when there’s perfect sight, so mist kind of scares me), but eventually I did get out and hit the woods.

It was a relaxed, laid back run. First I was thinking about doing a 5K, to go easy on my shins. Wwhen I had finished those 5K, I wasn’t feeling any pain and I was feeling so energised it would be a shame to let those good vibes go to waste! Eventually I managed to complete a 9K, without even one negative thought or thinking about calling it a day.
I wish I could be this positive on all of my runs!! 

One downside about the mist is how it makes you very cold, I stood in the shower for half an hour before my fingers got their normal colour back.

Of course I was craving a damping bowl of oats after all this.
I wanted to try to add an egg to the oats to get some extra protein in, and it worked out splendidly.

‘Eggy Banana Oats’

  •  half a cup of oats
  • a cup of soy milk
  • 1 egg (white)
  • half a banana, mashed
  • cinnamon
  • 1 t of peanut butter for topping
In a small casserole heat the milk until it’s boiling. Turn the fire to medium hear, add the oats and the egg, whisk until well combined and let it sit for a couple of minutes.
Add the cinnamon and the banana and keep whisking the mixture until it reaches the desired consistency. Serve with melted peanut butter drizzle on top.
This was really yummy and surprisingly fluffy, like eating marshmallow oats.
It was a bit heavy though, for the first time in the history of mankind I wasn’t able to finish my bowl of oats! Next time I might just add the white instead of a whole egg, to make it a bit less heavy.
Anyway, if you’re looking for a breakfast to hold you over for a long time,this might be worth trying.
Love, M.
5 responses to “I’d like my Oats Sunny Side Up

  1. this looks like the absolute perfect remedy after an enjoyable run outside. congratulations on your successful race!
    – Katie at http://www.ohshineon.com

  2. congrats on your run! oh and your breakfast looks delicious!

  3. Pingback: First Snow and Amaretto | Mixxedtape

Leave a Reply

