Library Visits and Leftover Lunch

After spending the entire morning in the library, trying to look like I knew exactly what I was doing (while I obviously didn’t have a single clue what I was searching for) this little cup of bliss was just perfect to get my energy levels back on track.

Green tea with warm soy milk,cinnamon and a drizzle of honey

I always use this little tea pot to heat the milk in the microwave before I add it to the tea, it overflows every single time I try it, it’s always worth it though!

Tried to add the cinnamon to the milk, since that didn’t really work out I just sprinkled some more cinnamon on top of everything.

Wouldn’t it be great to have your own milk foam maker so you could have green tea with soy milk foam every single day?

Thursdays are days on which I try to be creative with whatever I still have lying around, on the menu today: Spiced Pumpkin Avocado Quinoa and a salsa of leftover veggies and fruits.

Half a tomato, half a kiwi, half an avocado and some chickpeas
Chop everything in cubes and sprinkle with some olive oil and loads of pepper.

‘Spiced Pumpkin Avocado Quinoa’

  • 4 T of quinoa, cooked in water
  • half a cup of pumpkin
  • half an avocado, chopped
  • pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, curry, paprika powder

Cook the quinoa according to the directions ( I used 8 T of water for 4 T of quinoa). Add the spices to the water.
When the quinoa has absorbed all of the liquid, add about half a cup of pumpkin (you can use canned pumpkin or pieces of ‘real’ pumpkin heated in the microwave and mashed).

I actually was planning on just making pumpkin quinoa but as soon as I was eating, some avocado fell into the quinoa mixture and there is was: perfection!

So stir about half a chopped avocado through the pumpkin quinoa right before serving, you won’t regret it.

Elegant is I am, I scooped all of the avocado pieces out of the salsa and added them to the quinoa.

So far, this week has been great exercise wise: one yoga class and two aerobics classes, done and done. Too bad my shins aren’t all too excited with me taking aerobics classes 2 days in a row.
Can someone please tell them to grow up and stop being such wusses about it, if the knees can love it, so can they. You can also tell them I’m going to be easy on them for the rest of the week, but only if they are willing to co-operate on Sunday’s run ๐Ÿ˜‰

Love, M.

3 responses to “Library Visits and Leftover Lunch

  1. pumpkin + avocado? Good? I will try this – I feel like it would make a great post-run smoothie! Where do you come up with these combos Maxime? I’d never think of it!

    • That why I love creating stuff with leftovers, I didn’t think the combo would work either, but it was all I had lying around and it was so good, so I’m not complaining about it ! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

