Le Parfait, c’est Parfait

This pun was bound to happen with me eating all those parfaits lately.

Here’s this morning’s creation:

‘Grape and Jelly Oat Parfait’

For the oats: cook about 3/4 of a cup of oats in loads of water to get a voluminous fluff.
Cover the oats completely with water and microwave for about 2 minutes, add some cinnamon, stir and add more water, stir again and add even more water until everything is covered again, microwave for 2 to 3 minutes until the oats are completely fluffy.
Make sure to keep an eye on the oats though, you don’t want to have to clean out the microwave after you’ve finished breakfast ūüėČ

Now you can start layering. Spoon a layer of oats, add a layer of granola on top of that and add an other layer of oats .
I opted for some jelly after that oatmeal layer, but you could use some pudding as well. Crumble a layer of weetabix on top of the jelly. Finish with a final layer of oatmeal.

To top things off I sprinkled it with grapes and dried berries (or any fruit combo you like ).

Parfaits are probably my new favourite breakfast at this moment, so many options I have yet to try.

Now let’s talk about more important stuff: Cakes.

¬†Last week¬†I tried a new recipe to see if it would be a good match for¬†Birthday¬†Cake November…

It was absolutely horrible!!
The recipe seemed very promising (crumbly dough, ricotta and chocolate chips, what can go wrong ?) and the cake did look good when it came out of the oven.

But it tasted like an omelet with chocolate chips in it, not exactly what I was aiming for, especially not since the recipe claimed to create something yummy and divine.
So unfortunately I don’t have a recipe to share with you for the first week of Birthday Cake November, I really don’t want to post recipes for the sake of posting them, when I myself don’t like the end result (for those of you who are into sweet,¬†eggy types of cakes, feel free to ask for the recipe though).

What I do have is a picture of what my ultimate birthday cake looks like.

Chocolate cake with¬†chocolate¬†icing from ‘De Werf’!

Love, M.

Leave a Reply

