Eight Brussels Sprouts and some other Green Stuff

For dinner I felt an incredible urge for Brussels sprouts.
Must be caused by the sudden awareness of my ageing (in exactly one week, I’ll be 20 years old, and I’m pretty paranoid about it).

No one in this household shared this strange craving, so I hurried to the shop to buy some Brussels sprouts. Eight Brussels sprouts to be more specific 😉

I put them in two by two and I counted them (though not out loud).
The cashier gave my a strange look, but hey, they should be used to things like this from me by now.

I’m glad I did buy those 8 sprouts though, they really made dinner sublime

‘Brussels Sprouts and Chickpea Salad’

  • some Brussels sprouts
  • a few handfuls of spinach (I used frozen spinach)
  • 5 T chickpeas
  • a few handfuls of mushrooms, chopped
  • some garlic, chopped
  • olive oil
  • pepper and oregano
  • optional: egg for poaching or toast to make croutons

Cook the Brussels sprouts for about 10 minutes. In the meantime chop  the mushrooms and garlic and rinse the chickpeas.
When the sprouts are done, cut them in half.
Pour some olive oil in a skillet on high heat, first add the garlic and mushrooms, when the mushrooms have a bit of colour add the chickpeas, sprouts and spinach. Season with pepper and oregano. Sprinkle with some more olive oil right before serving.

First I thought about making croutons (ie. toast a slice of bread in some olive oil in a skillet) to go with it, but I eventually opted for a poached egg, there’s something about chickpeas with egg yolk that’s just wonderful!

Love, M.

 

Leave a Reply

