The End of the Breakfast Bakes

I thought I rocked an 8K today, but I kind of miscalculated and it was only a 7.5K… damn it, I was so excited I finally got my first 5 miles done, and then I found out I hadn’t, quite disappointing.

Mona, checking out the crispness of the leaves
Once the leaves were Mona – approved we were allowed to start our run  😉

On the other hand, I am proud of my attitude today.
I got inspire by Mehnaz over at I Only Wear Dresses, she is running the Marine Corps Marathon today and she’s been so positive about it, I’m sure she’s going to rock that marathon’s ass and make John and Nigel very proud!
So I figured, if she can have such an energetic attitude about a whole marathon, I can at least try not to be a wimp on my (alleged ;))  8K run.

Thinking about the frangipane Bake that was waiting for me at home also helped

‘Frangipane Breakfast Bake’

  • half a banana, mashed
  • 5 T almond flour
  • 3 T whole wheat flour
  • 2 T oats
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • dashes a milk (almond milk would be cool, I just used soy), how much depends on how you’d like the consistency of the batter to be
  • optional: a few t of amaretto

Preheat oven to 200°C (390 F).
Mash the banana and add all the other ingredients, mix well.
Pour the mixture into greased ramekins, bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

This delicious franipane bake also signals the end of October and thus the end of Breakfast Bake October…
But don’t worry, you never know what November might bring!

Things I’ve learned today:
1.Check your course before you head out for a run and not afterwards because you’re a smartass about knowing the distances of your routes 😉
2. You can’t do anything wrong with frangipane for breakfast
3. Crisp leaves make a perfect underground for a run

Love, M.

One response to “The End of the Breakfast Bakes

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Bake October: Recap | Mixxedtape

Leave a Reply

