Cold Mornings and not your everyday Oatmeal

This morning’s run was glorious.

It was so damn cold I almost froze my fingers and ears off and I sincerely thought I was going to die those first 5 minutes.

But is was so beautiful out!
The sun was just setting, so there was a radiant pink glow and there were mist banks all over the fields, going under and over trees and dew on everything (even on my nose, but that could have just as well been condensation from my breathing ;))

As soon as I saw all this beauty I forgot all about the cold and the way each breath felt like a knife raging through my throat and lungs…
I just enjoyed the moment, the beauty, the running (and getting warm after a while). The only regret I had was not having a camera at hand, cause I would have really like to share this with you guys, but I doubt a photograph could have captured the magic going on at the moment.

Steaming hot showers and a warm breakfast always feel that much better after a cold morning run!

‘Basis Oat Patties’
makes 4 medium patties

  • half a cup of oats
  • an egg (just the white works out fine too)
  • a splash of soy milk
  • cinnamon
That’s all you need for the base of your patties: mix and match everything and fry them in a skillet on high heat in some olive oil.
I was feeling all basic today, so I just made these plain ones with a dollop of peanut butter to top it off.
There’s so much more you can do with these patties though, here are some things I’d like to try with them: chocolate chip patties, patties with all kind of nuts, pumpkin patties, patties with sauté apples or a grilled banana,…
So many options, so little time 😉

Peanut butter melting on an oat cake
Love, M.
One response to “Cold Mornings and not your everyday Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

