Sweet Potato Mania

My scent is back!

Kind of at least, you know what that means??
Time to bring out the sweet potato and give it another go!

For lunch I had a gorgeous bowl of stove cooked oats with half a grated sweet potato and cinnamon, topped with a huge blob of melted peanut butter and some walnuts.

Njam, power food and comfort food at the same time, love it!

The lovely thing about having a cold is that no one will judge you for having oats for lunch.

Not that I care, I’d have oats for lunch everyday if my mum ‘d let me 😉

The other half of the sweet potato was reserved for dinner: Risotto.
You can probably tell by the texture- theme in my meals that my scent isn’t back completely. When I can’t taste a lot, I tend to seek my resort into comfy and gooey dishes. For me, risotto is like oatmeal, but better cause you can have it for dinner, even when you had oatmeal for breakfast, so you can eat comfort food twice, it’s a win win situation!

‘Sweet Potato Risotto’
makes 2 servings 

  • half a sweet potato
  • 100 gr of risotto rice (I estimated and used 4 well filled handfuls)
  • 400 ml of vegetable broth
  • a glass of white wine (I normally don’t add this, cause it’s such a waste opening a bottle of wine when it’s just you you’re making dinner for)
  • garlic (to taste), chopped
  • about 10 gr of grated parmesan cheese (most recipes say 40 gr for this amount of rice, but I usual just add it to taste and until the consistency is nice)
  • olive oil
In a small saucepan, stew the garlic until it’s glazy, add the sweet potato and the rice and let it stew for a bit. Then add the wine (if you’re planning on using wine) and about half of the broth. Let that simmer on a medium fire for a while until all the liquid is absorbed, then add the other half and let it simmer again. This will take about 20 minutes. When all the liquid is absorbed add the parmesan cheese, give it a good stir and it’s ready to get served.
Sweet potato might just be my new favourite ingredient, I can’t wait to experiment some more with it!
Love, M.

6 responses to “Sweet Potato Mania

  1. The risotto and the oats look so good! I would eat oats for every meal if I could as well 🙂

  2. I love sweet potatoes–very clever how you put them in your oatmeal! I just began adding pumpkin in my oatmeal this morning, but haven’t thought of sweet potato yet. 😀

  3. Brilliant! Maybe a sweet potato smoothie next? And the risotto looks delish!

Leave a Reply

