Monday’s Tale

I woke up with a head full of cotton wool…

that, or a small rodent decided to build his nest in my nasal cavities and sinuses while I was asleep.

My tea stash, in combination with the café mocha I had from the coffee machine during American literature, really saved my life today.

Here’s what I ate:

Stove cooked oats with flax seeds and sauté apples with cinnamon sprinkles
I haven’t had sauté apples in ages! Just slice the apples and heat them in a skillet on medium heat with some olive oil, sprinkle with cinnamon. Super yummy as a snack and as an oatmeal topping. Nice and comforty too.

I’m proud to announce that avocado is back in my life!

Dear Avocado,
I don’t know how I’ve done without you all this time, I promise you, from now on, nothing can separate us  ever again!

Lovely grilled sandwich with: mashed avocado and black pepper, slices of tomato and courgette and some hummus.
If you thought melted hummus was great, you should really try the melted hummus and melted avocado combo.

Daphne’s soup for dinner, great to fight off the germs.
It has carrots in it, and tomato, and celery and a lot of other stuff but I forgot, I should ask her… I’ll post the recipe as soon as I’ve asked her !

Here’s what I did:

I went to my Latin linguistics class and had a meet up with my professor after that to talk about my bachelor paper, which will be on Macrobius’ view on Roman Religion (which probably doesn’t sound familiar let alone interesting to you guys, but I’m pretty excited about the research I’m going to do, I can’t wait to get started on it).

I did some groceries, tried to decipher my notes from the linguistics class (why do I always seem to write in some secret code?!)

After lunch we had our first class of American Literature, the previous years we only had English literature, and I must say it’s quite fatiguing to listen to an American accent when you’re used to taking notes to a British accent (okay, we had a semi-Irish lad once too, now that was hard work!).

One striking thing in this class was when the professor was talking about the establishment of a literary tradition and he said :
‘It’s usually small things that drive history’ ( something with beaver hats and why North America got discovered, I’m not going to bore you with the details ;)).

So from now on, I’m going to let the small things count as well, if small things can make history, they can just as well make my day, right?

My body is craving some yoga and a good night sleep,
so that’s what I’m going to give it.

Love, M.

2 responses to “Monday’s Tale

  1. Aww – feel better, I’m still sick too and I am so tired of cough drops! Good luck on the thesis – sounds interesting!

    • The germs seem to have caught up with everyone now that the gorgeous weather has passed, hope you’ll feel better soon too!
      And thank you, I’ll try my very best to make it an interesting thesis 🙂

Leave a Reply

