Work hard, Party hard

Trying to live a healthy life as a college student shouldn’t mean you have to miss out on all the fun.

Basically, it’s all about balance and moderation. 

It took me quite some time to figure this out myself, and even though I’m not entirely there yet (at least not always) I’ve become better at not beating myself up for a couple of beers or a handful of chips.

About a year ago I would have stressed about going to a party where there would be alcohol and snacks involved. It would probably also have implied either severe restriction for a couple of days so I could get a drink and some snacks, or completely trying to avoid all snackage/drinking and worrying about it all night (and eventually caving in and eating everything in sight).

This is what last night looked like:

Violet jenever, it smelled sooooo good and it tasted like those purple little candy things… and it’s pretty!

Purple shots 🙂

Tiramisu, who could resist this?!

This week I’ve been to two parties and I made a deal with myself that it was okay to have a glass of wine on Wednesday night and some shots and snacks on Thursday night, as long as I ate enough veggies and fruits on those days and didn’t (unconsciously) restrict before/after/because of that.

Some pics from another party, yep that’s me on the right

There was a time my ‘healthy’ lifestyle (which was actually totally unhealthy at that moment) would get in the way of my social life, but this year I’ve learned that being healthy doesn’t have to imply you should miss out on all the fun. You can still enjoy yourself, have a drink and some treats, it won’t be the end of the world, trust me on that one!

Balance is a hard thing, but when you’re able to find it and enjoy things in moderation, it’s really worth it. 

Love, M.

6 responses to “Work hard, Party hard

  1. Healthy Living Leah

    You’re so pretty! And so right about balance and moderation, I can’t remember the last time I let myself go out and enjoy a few glasses of wine – hopefully I will be able to soon 🙂

    • Awww thank you dear, that’s so sweet of you!
      I’m sure you’ll be able to balance things out soon, just have faith in yourself and everything’ll work out just fine! 🙂

  2. I totally feel the same way sometimes, especially because I tend to hang out with other crafty, baker-type people. It’s hard not to indulge when we all want to show off our trade. It’s important to keep that balance in check when you can. But sometimes, dammit, you just need a drink and an extra cookie.

    • That sounds so tempting, when everyone’s baking and bringing delicious stuff 🙂 Yep, sometimes you just have to indulge a bit, that’s life (the good part of life to be more particular :D)

  3. I live for champagne so it’s definitely a part of my life:) I love how balanced you are and you look so cute in the picture above! And you are a redhead! Gorgeous!

    • Thank you 🙂 I was a redhead actually (the last photograph is from a party last year) I’m kind of blondish atm (my hair has a will of its own, I dye it and it always turns blond again )

Leave a Reply

