On Ancient Toaster Ovens

My toaster is probably the most important (and most used) kitchen tool lying around in my tiny kitchen. It’s also by far the oldest piece of equipment I own (well technically it’s my parents’ but I took it with me to Leuven so now it’s mine).

It toasts bread (obviously ;)) which is brilliant cause I’m a real toast fiend! But it’s not enough for the bread to be toasted, it has to be still warm as well.
You can’t fool me with bread that was toasted half an hour ago, that’s just a ‘crunchy’ slice of bread, it has to be à la minute.

In addition to toasting bread, it can do more magical stuff as well…
it’s actually an oven in disguise.

It comes in handy to make some yummy “pizzas”: for lunch I had a slice of bread with hummus, topped with zucchini, tomatoes and all kind of herbs which I shoved under the oven thingy! Lunch made in heaven.

Delicious grilled zucchini, made in a toaster

‘Chickpea and Cherry Tomato Quinoa Salad’

You’ll need: 6 T of quinoa cooked in 12 T of vegetable broth, a can of chickpeas, a dozen of cherry tomatoes and some olive oil.
This is a super easy to assemble: just cook the quinoa until all the liquid is absorbed, add the veggies, drizzle with some olive oil and pop in the fridge to cool a bit, et voila!


I ate the quinoa salad with some canned tuna (don’t hate on canned tuna, it’s cheap, it’s easy and it’s delicious!).

On 
 the side I had a plate of grilled zucchini, some with aubergine salsa and some with hummus (I had some left of both in my fridge).
This was divine, especially the zucchini pieces with melted hummus on them!
Zucchini flower food art 😉

You might have noticed that I’m already ‘cheating’ a bit on my meal plan, but  it’s only a broad plan, no need to be strict about it.
It simply was too hot for a warm quinoa dish with veggies and grilled fish so I opted for the a cold dish a bit similar to the one that’s on the plan for Wednesday.

Now go grill some zucchini, kids!
Love, M.
3 responses to “On Ancient Toaster Ovens

  1. Nom – quinoa and cherry tomatoes and chickpeas – sounds like a perfect salad to me!

  2. Those zucchinis with eggplant salsa look delicious! Also I will definitely try them with humus.

Leave a Reply

