Guess who had liquor for Breakfast

Hmmm, maybe it’s better to paraphrase that: ‘Guess who had some liquor in her breakfast this morning’ 😉

In waffles to be more specific!
Waffles and booze on a Sunday morning, don’t know how this can get any better

‘Almond Breakfast Waffles’
for  8 medium waffles

  • 100gr (3/4 a cup) of whole wheat flour
  • 20gr (1/8 a cup) of almond flour
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1/2 T baking powder
  • 1/2 T baking soda
  • a few dashes of cinnamon and salt
  • 10 T soy milk
  • 4 T olive oil
  • 1 egg
  • handful of almonds, chopped (plus more if you want to garnish with some almonds)
  • amaretto
Instead of amaretto you can also use some almond extract of course.
Whisk all of the ingredients together. Preheat your waffles iron and let the batter sit for 5 minutes before you start baking.
 
A nice garnish for these waffles would be a couple of slivered almonds fried in olive oil, adds some nice crunch.

This’ll be the last ‘special’ breakfast I’m going to have in a while, tonight I’m heading back for Leuven cause my classes are starting again on Tuesday and in Leuven I don’t have a waffle iron nor an oven.
So no bakes and waffles for this girl this weeks.
Good thing I have all my baking equipment back at my service during the weekends! I’m sensing some serious baking action for the next couple of weekends 😉
Love, M.
4 responses to “Guess who had liquor for Breakfast

  1. Yum! I love waffles for breakfast! 🙂
    My mom always makes them on Christmas morning:)

  2. Heehee – I love the smoky darkness of the photos, they are “Noir Waffles” with a touch of Amaretto.

  3. oh, oh my. just, wow. mmm, lick, whisk, bake, scarf.

Leave a Reply

