Two Mistakes make One Lovely Mess

When trying to make a desserty kinda snack yesterday, a single serving chocolate zucchini cake to be more specific, I managed to make 2 rookie baking mistakes:

1. I didn’t follow to the recipe (my own recipe nota bene!).
I baked the mix for 13 minutes instead of the required 15 to 20 minutes.
But the top already looked so good, and I used a toothpick and I came out clean…which was a result of my greediness,since I felt to need to over- fill the ramekin. The top was done all right,  but the centre.. that’s a different story!

2. I under-greased my ramekin
Need I say more?

The result was kind of a moelleux zucchini cake which further resulted in a giant mess!

See that crater on the left?!
Before putting the cake on this white coffee table I was taking photographs at my mum’s dining table and the crater decided to shed zucchini-chocolate lava! I’m sorry mum, I’ll clean up the mess later, promised!

Zucchini lava on dining table and melted pudding on white coffee table

I decided to eat this guy at the kitchen table and was smart enough to use paper towels to prevent more damage to be done

This cake left a trail of chaos and destruction!
But it was so very worth it !

I’ll now hand over the recipe, but you have to promise to let it bake long enough?!

‘Single Serving Zucchini Chocolate Cake’

  • 4 T of whole wheat flour
  • 1 T of oats
  • 1/2 t of baking powder
  • dashes of cinnamon and salt
  •  1 t  cocoa powder
  • 3 t sunflower seeds (optional, they add some crunch)
  • some zucchini
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 T plain yoghurt
  • 1 a 2 T milk
  • 1 t melted butter or (coconut) oil

Preheat oven to 180°c (360 F).
Mix wet and dry ingredients in 2 separate bowls. Gently fold wet ingredients under dry ones. You can add a tablespoon of sugar if you’re a real sweet tooth!
Put the mixture in a greased bowl.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. (I think you guys understand the importance of those 15 minutes by now ;))

If you want to mimic the moelleux element, I’d suggest putting a piece of dark chocolate in the middle of your mixture after you poured it into a ramekin, it will get nice and melty but it won’t leave such a mess 😉
(or at least let us hope it won’t!)

As for not greasing the bowl enough…

that’s something the dishwasher will have to deal with!

Love, M.

3 responses to “Two Mistakes make One Lovely Mess

  1. I think the future of all food blogging needs to be single serving recipes and this is perfect!

    • Single serving recipes are the best, it’s easier to triple a single serving recipe than trying to figure out how to get a single serving out of a recipe that’s meant for 12 people or something 😉

  2. Pingback: Sneaky Veggies | mixxedtape

Leave a Reply

