Healthified Lunch Box Muffin

These beautiful babies are the result of a fervent search for a more adventurous content for my sister’s lunch box.
I think they would be show stoppers for breakfast as well !

Now, I’m not promoting muffins for lunch, but sometimes a little something special for lunch can be fun and I tried my very best to fabricate healthy ones. A search around the web inspired me to come up with my own healthified muffin version.

‘Healthified Lunch Box Muffin’
for 6 gigantic muffins

Wet ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 35gr (1/4 cup)  apple sauce or yoghurt (I used yoghurt for these ones)
  • 1 tablespoon of butter or coconut oil, melted
Dry ingredients:
  • 120gr (about a cup) of oats
  • 120gr of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2t of baking soda
  • 1t of baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 20gr of sugar or a tablespoon of honey/agave
    (note: I didn’t use any sugar for this batch and I liked them just the way they were, but if you like to sweeten things up a bit this would do the trick)

Add ins:

  • a handful of mixed nuts
  • a handful of chocolate chips
  • a cup of strawberries (or other berries)
Preheat the oven to 160°c (320F).
In one bowl mix the dry ingredients,mix the wet ingredients in another bowl. Gently put together wet and dry and fold your add ins into the dough. Divide the dough into 6 muffin liners, bake them for 18 to 20 minutes if you like them a bit doughy, 22 minutes if you like them firmer.

If you want them a bit more doughy you can also add some milk to the batter. 

There’s a tragic ending to this glorious story though…
my sister didn’t like them… at all! She thought they were too dense, not sweet enough and overall ‘too healthy’.

But I liked them very much!
For yesterday’s mid-morning snack, I put them in the microwave for about a minute, cut them in half  and  topped one side with jelly and the other with peanut butter, very goooooood!
If you try them feel free to let me know how you feel about them, tips for improvement are always welcome. I’d like to make a muffin that my sister’ll like and still is healthy!

Love, M.
5 responses to “Healthified Lunch Box Muffin

  1. Mmm these look delicious! I’d love to eat your sister’s share…

  2. Feel free to let me know whether you liked them or not if you try them 🙂

  3. Pingback: Spicy and Tasty | mixxedtape

Leave a Reply

