Some Britishness to celebrate a New Day

When the words Britishness, breakfast, clotted cream and a picture of jelly are featured in a post, what do you immediately think about?

Let’s make this a bit easier for you: You’re supposed to say scones now ;)

The most vivid mental image I have from our visit to London last summer was the first time I ever tasted a scone (with clotted cream and jelly, of course), it made me sad to think I only tried it on our last day cause there would be no way I’d ever find that greatness again when back on Belgium territory.

Or at least that was what I thought until I stumbled across this easy peasy scone recipe on  Eat, Live, Run.

’15 Minute Oatmeal Scones’
Recipe as seen on Eat, Live, Run

  • 40 gr (1/2 a cup) of oats
  • 80 gr (2/3 a cup) of flour
  • 1/2 t of salt
  • 1 t of baking powder
  • 2 T of butter
  • soy milk: the recipe says 1/2 a cup, I just splashed some in
Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, cut the butter in tiny pieces ( I read somewhere this works best when the butter is really cold) crumb it under the mixture with your fingers and add the milk. Bake for 12 minutes on 250°c (475F).

 My mum liked them too, so it’s safe to say it’s not just something ‘weird’ only I seem to enjoy in this household (such as peanut butter, chickpeas, oatcakes, overnight oats… and the list goes on!).

On a side note: does anyone think it’s strange to put peanut butter on scones? Is that considered blasphemy?
We didn’t have any cream on hand (clotted or other wise), and just jelly seemed a bit plain, so I had a peanut butter and jelly scone.

Make these, and enjoy a bit of Britishness in the early morning or with a cup of tea as a snack!
Love, M. 

2 responses to “Some Britishness to celebrate a New Day

  1. Lenna (veganlenna)

    I have never eaten scones! I love British things, but scones and me haven´t crossed our ways yet :)

Leave a Reply

